30+ Science Fiction Books for Kids (Ages 8–12)

30+ Science Fiction Books for Kids (Ages 8–12)

Image for post

If your child loves sci-fi books, then look no further! Here are 17 books and series to explore!

Cats vs. Robots series by Margaret Stohl, Lewis Peterson, illustrated by Kay Peterson

What a cat-astrophe! An intergalactic war between the Feline Empire and Robot Federation is brewing. Twins Max and Min, their parents, and their cousin Javi all know the stakes are higher than ever as the fate of their planet rests on their shoulders.

Image for postImage for post

Cog by Greg Van Eekhout

From the author of Voyage of the Dogs, Greg van Eekhout! Wall-E meets The Wild Robot in this middle grade instant classic about five robots on a mission to rescue their inventor from the corporation that controls them all.

cog by greg van eekhout

Lost Horizon series by Michael Ford

The world ended 13 years ago, and a deadly chemical called Waste began to spread across the globe. Millions died. Cities fell into chaos. Anything that the Waste didn?t kill, mutated into threatening new forms. Kobi always thought he and his dad were the only survivors. But when his dad goes missing, Kobi discovers a conspiracy even deadlier than the Waste itself.

Image for postImage for post

York series by Laura Ruby

From National Book Award finalist and Printz Award winner Laura Ruby comes an epic alternate history series about three kids who try to solve the greatest mystery of the modern world: a puzzle and treasure hunt laid into the very streets and buildings of New York City.

Image for postImage for post

Timeless: Diego and the Rangers of the Vastlantic by Armand Balthazaar

You?ve never seen Earth like this before: continents reshaped, oceans re-formed, cities rebuilt, and mountains sculpted anew. Dinosaurs roam the plains alongside herds of buffalo, and giant robots navigate the same waters as steam-powered ships. Integrating art and text, this epic and cinematic adventure features more than 150 full-color illustrations.

Timeless: Diego and the Rangers of the Vastlantic by Armand Balthazaar

Greystone Secrets: The Strangers by Margaret Peterson Haddix

A new series from the master of plot twists, Margaret Peterson Haddix. What makes you you? The Greystone kids thought they knew, but everything changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids. They?re shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. The other kids share their same first and middle names. They?re the same ages. They even have identical birthdays. Who, exactly, are these strangers?

Greystone Secrets: The Strangers by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Edge of Extinction series by Laura Martin

One hundred and fifty years ago, the first dinosaurs were cloned. Soon after, they replaced humans at the top of the food chain. The only way to survive was to move into underground compounds. Jurassic World meets Dawn of the Planet of the Apes in this epic middle grade series full of heart-pounding action and breathtaking chills!

Image for postImage for post

Daniel Coldstar series by Stev Pavlou

Below the surface on a forgotten planet, Daniel Coldstar searches for relics from a lost civilization. Daniel has no memory of his past. All he knows is to do his job and fear the masters of the mines. Until he unearths a relic more powerful than anything he has ever seen. A relic that might help him escape?

Bestselling author of Artemis Fowl, Eoin Colfer, says: ?Sci-fi has never been so much fun. I loved it!?

Image for postImage for post

Space Runners series by Jeramy Kraatz

Star Wars meets Ridley Pearson?s Kingdom Keepers in this high-stakes intergalactic adventure. The Moon Platoon is the first book in an action-packed series for tweens that?s perfect for fans of Eoin Colfer and Lisa McMann.

space runners: the moon platoon by jeramy kraatzImage for postImage for postImage for post

Chronicle of the Dark Star series by Kevin Emerson

It is Earth Year 2213 ? but, of course, there is no Earth anymore. Not since it was burned to a cinder by the sun, which has mysteriously begun the process of going supernova. Liam Saunders-Chang is one of the last humans left on Mars. The son of two scientists who have been racing against time to create technology vital to humanity?s survival, Liam, along with his friend Phoebe, will be on the last starliner to depart before Mars, like Earth before it, is destroyed. Or so he thinks?

Image for postImage for postImage for post

Going Wild series by Lisa McMann

Spider-Man meets Animorphs in this thrilling middle grade series from Lisa McMann, New York Times bestselling author of the Unwanteds series. Charlie Wilde knew her life would change forever when her family moved from the city of Chicago to the suburbs of Arizona?and that was before she found the bracelet. After putting it on, she notices odd things start to happen. Suddenly Charlie seems to have the speed of a cheetah and the strength of an elephant ? and that?s just the beginning.

Image for postImage for postImage for post

Monsters Unleashed series by Jon Kloepfer

Freddie Liddle has a big problem: Monsters. Giant, fire-breathing, electric-shocking, bone-crunching monsters are attacking his town. There?s just one way to stop these oversize beasts: recruit his bullies, since only they know how the monsters think. But teaming up with his worst enemies is Freddie?s worst nightmare. Can Freddie make friends with his bullies and save his town, or will the monsters have the final ROAR?

Image for postImage for post

Omega City series by Diana Peterfreund

The Goonies meets City of Ember in this series from acclaimed author Diana Peterfreund. Gillian Seagret doesn?t listen to people who say her father?s a crackpot. His conspiracy theories about the lost technology of Cold War-era rocket scientist Dr. Aloysius Underberg may have cost him his job and forced them to move to a cottage in the sticks, but Gillian knows he?s right and plans to prove it.

Image for postImage for postImage for post

Voyage of the Dogs by Greg Van Eekhout

Dogs in space! Lopside is a Barkonaut, a specially trained dog who assists human astronauts on missions in space. He and the crew aboard the spaceship Laika are en route to set up an outpost on a distant planet. When the mission takes a disastrous turn, the Barkonauts on board suddenly find themselves completely alone on their severely damaged ship. Survival seems impossible. But these dogs are Barkonauts ? and Barkonauts always complete their mission.

voyage of the dogs by greg van eekhoutImage for postImage for post

No Responses

Write a response